Fatima College

  • image

Fatima Mata National College, with 58 glorious years of service, remains the pride of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Quilon. Established in 1951 by Bishop Jerome Fernandez, this institution of higher learning is dedicated to the task of equipping young men and women for responsible roles in India’s national life. The Fatima motto PER MATREM PRO PATRIA (Through the Mother for the Fatherland) encapsulates this idea of Marian devotion as instrumental in the cultivation of social responsibility.

Fatima Mata National College was founded in 1951 by His Excellency Rt. Rev. Dr. Jerome M. Fernandez, the first native Bishop of Quilon, with a view to providing facilities for higher education in the diocese. The college was formally inaugurated on the 29th of December, 1952 by His Eminence Norman Thomas Cardinal Gilory, Papal Legate to India.

Fatima was elevated to the status of a first grade college with the introduction of degree courses in Commerce, Economics and Zoology. This was followed by introduction of courses in Botany, Chemistry, Mathematics and Physics. Physical resources were added in the form of Hostels, a sports pavilion, Chemistry block, an auditorium, playgrounds, an NCC office, hockey stadium, language lab, basket ball courts, a botany garden, computer labs and research centres.

Principals down the years

1.        Rt. Rev. Msgr. Joseph Kureethadom M.A. (1951 - 1952)
2.        Rev. Fr. Mathew Kottiath M.A., Ph.D. (1952 - 1960 & 1965 - 1969)
3.        Rev. Fr. C. M. George M.A. (1960 - 1965)
4.        Rt. Rev. Msgr. A. J. Rozario M.B.A., M.Ed., Ph.L., S.T.L (1969 - 1984)
5.        Rev. Dr. Richard P. Fernandez M.Sc., Ph.D. (1984 - 1988)
6.        Rev. Fr. Stanley Roman M.A., Ph.L., S.T.L (1988 - 1996)
7.        Prof. K. Napolean M.Sc., B.Ed. (1996 - 1997)
8.        Dr. G. Henry M. A., Ph.D (1997 - 2004)
9.        Prof. C. K. Felix M.A., M.Phil (2004 - 2006)
10.     Dr. Sr. Soosamma Kavumpurath M.Sc., Ph.D., Post Doc (2006 onwards)

Managers Gallery

1.        Rt. Rev Msgr. Victor Fernandez (1951 - 1952)
2.        Rt. Rev. Msgr. Bernard D'cruz (1952 - 1965)
3.        Rt. Rev . Msgr. Peter Thekkevilayil (1965 - 1974)
4.        Very Rev. Fr. Alphonse Thundil (1976 - 1984)
5.        Rt. Rev. Msgr. A. J. Rozario (1984 - 2006)
6.        Rev. Fr. Anil Jose (2006 onwards)